About Hockey Uttarakhand

Hockey Uttarakhand is the recognized state body to govern, manage, control, and administer the game of Hockey in the State of Uttarakhand. Affiliated to Hockey India and Uttarakhand Olympic Association, Hockey Uttarakhand with the assistance of the Department of Sports, Govt. of Uttarakhand has drawn out a long term development program to train players and to provide domestic exposure besides regular state and national championships. Read More

About Hockey India

Hockey India is the governing body to direct and conduct all activities for both men’s and women’s hockey in India. It is recognized by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India as the sole body responsible for promoting Hockey in India.

Headquartered in New Delhi, Hockey India was established in 2009 after the Indian Hockey Federation was disaffiliated in 2008 by the Indian Olympic Association. The Indian Hockey Federation conducted all activities of the Indian Men’s team whereas the Indian Women’s team was directed by the Indian Women’s Hockey Federation.  Read More

Hockey Uttarakhand Synthetic Turf

The state of Uttarakhand got its first synthetic turf hockey ground at the Maharana Pratap Sports College in Dehradun.

The synthetic turf is of Polygrass Olympia brand which is a high-class hockey pitch and meets international standards. It is beneficial for the sporting ecosystem as it provides great exposure to the state’s hockey players as well as helps in organizing national-level tournaments.

Hockey Olympians and athletes

Syed Ali

Syed Ali, born 21 August 1956 was an Indian national field hockey player and Olympian from the state of Uttarakhand who competed in the Men’s tournament in the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal. He completed his schooling in Nainital where he also began playing the sport of hockey and graduated from JNPG College, Lucknow.

Syed Ali was a member of the Indian national hockey team from the 1970s till the early 80s. He played the ‘left out’ position and was scouted by Olympian Champion in hockey at London 1948 and Helsinki 1952, K. D. Singh Babu.

George Marthins

George Eric McCarthy Marthins, born 24 December 1905 was an Indian field hockey player who competed in the 1928 Summer Olympics as a member of the Indian field hockey team, which won the gold medal. He studied at St. George’s College, Mussoorie, India, which produced 6 Olympic hockey players – Earnest and William Goodsir-Cullen, George Marthins, Michael Gateley, Lionel Emmett, and Carlyle Carrol Tapsell.

Lionel Emmet

Lionel Charles Renwick Emmett, born 8 January 1913 was a physician and Indian field hockey player from Mussoorie. He was a part of the Indian national team that competed and won the gold in the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin. He played for one match as a ‘forward’.

Rajinder Singh Rawat

Rajinder Singh Rawat, born 30 January 1964 was an Indian national field hockey player who competed in the Men’s tournament at the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul. Rajinder was the goalkeeper of the Indian national side at the Seoul Olympic Games and was also a part of the Indian hockey team that won bronze at the 1986 Asian Games in Seoul.

Vandana Katariya

Vandana Katariya, born 15 April 1992 is an Indian field hockey player, who plays as a ‘forward’ in the Indian national team. Vandana rose to prominence in 2013, being India’s top goal-scorer in the 2013 Women’s Hockey Junior World Cup, where India won a bronze medal; she scored five goals in the tournament, the third by any player.

Kataria has played for the senior national team in more than 200 international matches. She was a part of the Indian team that won a bronze medal at the 2014 Asian Games and represented India at the 2016 Rio Olympics.

Image Gallery