About Hockey Uttarakhand

Hockey Uttarakhand is the recognized state body to govern, manage, control, and administer the game of Hockey in the State of Uttarakhand. Affiliated to Hockey India and Uttarakhand Olympic Association, Hockey Uttarakhand with the assistance of the Department of Sports, Govt. of Uttarakhand has drawn out a long term development program to train players and to provide domestic exposure besides regular state and national championships.
One of the first members to join and contribute to the formation of the a new national governing body for the sport of hockey, Hockey Uttarakhand is a member unit of Hockey India. It is a registered society under the Registrar of Firms, Societies and Chits, Govt. of Uttarakhand formed to develop the Game of Hockey in the state of Uttarakhand.
The game of Hockey has a bright history as it was deep rooted in Uttarakhand and played by brilliant hockey players from the state. Uttarakhand boasts of producing some of the finest hockey players over the years, who went on to don the Indian tricolour at the Olympic Games, World Cups, World Championships, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and many international events. Hockey greats and legends like Syed Ali (Montreal 1976 Olympics), Rajinder Singh Rawat (Seoul 1988 Olympics and 1986 Asian Games) etc. are some of the legends the state has produced. Vandana Katariya (Rio 2016 Olympics) is yet another fine example of Uttarakhand’s prowess in hockey.
Young and talented children, prospects and athletes have to be properly trained to play hockey right from the school level. In order to bring another golden period for hockey in the State, Hockey Uttarakhand has undertaken the mission to promote the game of hockey in schools and colleges and at grassroots level.

Hockey Olympians and athletes

Syed Ali

Syed Ali, born 21 August 1956 was an Indian national field hockey player and Olympian from the state of Uttarakhand who competed in the Men’s tournament in the 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal. He completed his schooling in Nainital where he also began playing the sport of hockey and graduated from JNPG College, Lucknow.

Syed Ali was a member of the Indian national hockey team from the 1970s till the early 80s. He played the ‘left out’ position and was scouted by Olympian Champion in hockey at London 1948 and Helsinki 1952, K. D. Singh Babu.

George Marthins

George Eric McCarthy Marthins, born 24 December 1905 was an Indian field hockey player who competed in the 1928 Summer Olympics as a member of the Indian field hockey team, which won the gold medal. He studied at St. George’s College, Mussoorie, India, which produced 6 Olympic hockey players – Earnest and William Goodsir-Cullen, George Marthins, Michael Gateley, Lionel Emmett, and Carlyle Carrol Tapsell.

Lionel Emmet

Lionel Charles Renwick Emmett, born 8 January 1913 was a physician and Indian field hockey player from Mussoorie. He was a part of the Indian national team that competed and won the gold in the 1936 Summer Olympics in Berlin. He played for one match as a ‘forward’.

Rajinder Singh Rawat

Rajinder Singh Rawat, born 30 January 1964 was an Indian national field hockey player who competed in the Men’s tournament at the 1988 Summer Olympics in Seoul. Rajinder was the goalkeeper of the Indian national side at the Seoul Olympic Games and was also a part of the Indian hockey team that won bronze at the 1986 Asian Games in Seoul.

Vandana Katariya

Vandana Katariya, born 15 April 1992 is an Indian field hockey player, who plays as a ‘forward’ in the Indian national team. Vandana rose to prominence in 2013, being India’s top goal-scorer in the 2013 Women’s Hockey Junior World Cup, where India won a bronze medal; she scored five goals in the tournament, the third by any player.

Kataria has played for the senior national team in more than 200 international matches. She was a part of the Indian team that won a bronze medal at the 2014 Asian Games and represented India at the 2016 Rio Olympics.